#1 Spicy Sticky BBQ Wings & A Quick Stir-Fry

Hi folks! So this is the first recipe I am posting on this blog. After lectures, I decided to try and make something quite healthy as opposed to all the takeaways and oven food I had been consuming! Behold, if you are not a fan of spicy food, I would strongly recommend you leave out the scotch bonnet in this recipe because it is very hot. The seasoning I used are ones that I am familiar with and enjoy, so adapt them to your taste!

First things first here’s what you’ll need:

  • A portion of chicken wings (For this particular recipe, I used 5 wings)
  • A stir fry mix – or choose your favourite ingredients i.e. bean sprouts, carrots, spring onions etc
  • Fine egg noodles – I used two rolls
  • 1 scotch bonnet. Alternatively you can use chilli flakes/powder or leave this out completely
  • Soy Sauce
  • Water
  • Oil

Seasoning I used:

  • Jerk Seasoning
  • All Purpose Seasoning
  • Meat Seasoning
  • Classic BBQ
  • Knorr’s Aromat
  • HP’s Classic BBQ Sauce
  • Black Pepper
  • Salt

The majority of  the seasoning was purchased from an Afro-Carribean supermarket but can be bought from supermarkets such as Tesco and Asda too.

Preparing The Chicken

Cooking time: Approx 40-45 minutes. 200-220 degrees / gas mark 8-9

  1. The first thing I do is wash my chicken in a bowl of water. I add lemon juice to help cleanse it.
  2. I then started to prepare my marinade for the chicken which consisted of one chopped onion and approx 1-1/2 tbsp of all the listed seasoning above (except for salt as most of the seasoning will include salt so you don’t want to overdo it). I also added my scotch bonnet with the seeds in to give my wings a spicy kick. Put these ingredients into a blender/food processor and add some oil (1 tbsp) to bind them together. As the ingredients are very dry, you will need to add water until it becomes a smooth consistency. Once the ingredients have been blended, add your BBQ sauce. I added approx 4-5 tbsp’s because I wanted mine to be quite sticky but you can add however much or little you want. Continue to blend until you get a smoothly blended mixture.
  3. Pour your marinade into a bowl and add your chicken into it, coating it until the chicken has been fully covered . There will a lot of marinade left over but don’t throw this away. Instead use it to glaze the chicken as you turn it every once in a while.

 

20170222_190230909_ios

As you can see the chicken wings have been coated in the spicy marinade. As the chicken cooks, brush/pour the rest of the marinade onto every time you turn the wings over, to stop the chicken from drying out.

4. Allow the chicken to cook for approximately 40-45 minutes or until it has reached a gorgeous brown colour. I cooked my chicken on a high heat as I was constantly turning it over, however if you are busy doing other things, you can lower the temperature and increase the cooking time (just be sure not to burn it!)

Now this is the most time consuming part of the recipe so I’d advise to prepare and cook the chicken first. Once the chicken only has about 15-20 minutes left until its cooked through, begin to prepare and cook the stir fry

Preparing the stir-fry

  1. Add your fine egg noodles into a pot of boiling water. Add enough water to cover the egg noodles. It will take approx 3-5 minutes to cook through. Season to taste with a pinch of salt. Once it has been cooked through, drain and leave to the side.

20170222_194356270_ios

  1. Now the key to a perfect stir-fry is a large pan/wok and high heat. Add approx 1-2 tbsp of oil into a wok on a medium-high heat
  2. Once the pan has heated up, add your vegetables and stir for a few minutes.
  1. Then add your fine egg noodles to the mixture and stir the ingredients together.
  2. I then added some some classic BBQ seasoning and approx 1 tbsp of soy sauce and continued to stir for a few more minutes.

Stir-fry’s do not take a long time to cook at all and I felt it complimented my spicy chicken wings very nicely! Plate up your dish & it’s ready to enjoy.

20170222_200017473_ios

Overall, to make this dish, the ingredients were not so expensive and cost me just around £10, so for students on a budget who want to eat healthy, this could be something to try! It’s not the quickest recipe in the world but its most definitely a healthy and tasty one!

Hope you enjoy 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

