A word of Encouragement For All Final Year University Students

It’s currently 2:25am and I’m sat in my bed wondering why on earth I decided to drink a cup of tea an hour ago.

should not have done that.jpg

Anywaaaay… I just wanted to schedule this post for all final year students at University to give you a few words of encouragement. It is now the first of March and for many of us, University will soon be coming to an end. In less than 2-3 months, it will all be over!

Running towards the finishing line is arguably the hardest part of a race but as you approach that line, it is important to remember why you started the course you chose and where you aspire to be in life. I can’t begin to tell you how many times there have been where I have stayed up, doing all-nighters with back to back assignments, fighting the urge to sleep, losing the will to live and just constantly asking myself why on earth did I put myself through this? why.jpg

As someone who is the first to attend University in my family, I would be lying if I said I was not feeling the pressure to achieve and do well. But truth be told, one of the major things that have kept me going is knowing that in a few months time I will be a graduate, collecting my certificate in front of all my loved ones, knowing that all the hard work I put in was not done in vain.

If you are reading this and you are in your final year, congratulations! I’m sure the journey has not been easy, but it will be worth it! Here’s just a few tips & advice to keep you encouraged and motivated through this last hurdle.

1.You have put in SO much hard work, so don’t give up now!

2. Make a revision plan for your upcoming exams (if you have any) and stick to it! It’s now the final push, make it count. The earlier you start, the less stressed you will be and the more confident you will feel to tackle your final exams. This actually reminds me of a quote I once saw that says…

“The secret of getting ahead is getting started. The secret of getting started is breaking your complex, overwhelming tasks into smaller manageable tasks, and then starting on the first one” – Mark Twain 

3. Not to scare you, but once this chapter of our lives is done, that’s when we really have to grow up, become an adult and face the music *insert crying emoji* haha, so enjoy and embrace this season in your life!

4. Stick up post-it notes of your favourite quotes, inspirations and reminders around your room to keep you encouraged on a daily basis. This has really helped me because as I get ready for the day, I just have to take a look at one post-it note and I feel ready to conquer the world.

5. Look after yourself. Your well-being is extremely important. Eat well & drink well!

I hope these 5 points have at least encouraged one person today.

Until next time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

