Health & Fitness Journey |  Transitioning to a healthier lifestyle 

So on the 13th of May 2017, I decided to start my journey on becoming a little bit healthier. The constant takeaways I was indulging in with my bf whilst cosied up in bed watching a movie was starting to become ridiculous, so I decided that enough is enough. No more domino’s just because there’s a 50% off voucher lying by the front door! No more Chinese or Turkish takeaways just because EE was offering a very tempting 25% discount code (Damn you EE!) It’s not been easy but here are the things I’ve made changes to. When it comes to losing weight or just having a healthy lifestyle, your diet is so important (ESPECIALLY a balanced one) and therefore I feel it’s necessary to sort out my eating habits before committing to a gym because I mean the the amount of times I’ve joined and cancelled my gym membership… if I had a penny for every time… yeah I think you get my drift.

So what I have done or what will I be doing?

1) Cook more, take out less. I’ve been cooking healthy meals and I’ve been absolutely loving Linda McCartneys vegetarian friendly foods. The shredded duck and vegetarian sausages are so amazing and honest to God, it tastes as if I was eating meat. I’ve decided to cut back on the various meats I’ve been eating and so far so good!

2) I am currently on a one month alcohol detox which started on the 10th of May. Not that I’m an alcoholic or anything but in the last two months I definitely consumed quite a bit of alcohol due to various events I attended. So I’m going to give my liver a break!

3) Nutribullet smoothies! So if you’ve tried a nutribullet smoothie and a smoothie made with a regular blender, you will definitely know there is a heavy difference on the two. A nutribullet retains all the nutrients of the ingredients whilst a blender will only produce and retain the juice of the ingredients and leave out all the goodness of it. The other day I made a smoothie using a nutribullet consisting of:

  • Spinach
  • Kale
  • Coconut water
  • Blueberries
  • Strawberries
  • Raspberries
  • Baobab powder
  • Super greens powder

And it came out amazing! Tasted delicious and I knew it had lots of goodness packed within.

So here are just a few things I am starting to do. If there’s anyone else who wants to join in or has any useful tips for myself or others please leave a comment below!! Let’s motivate and encourage each other! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

