A Message From Myself Two Years Ago… | Enjoying Your Season

So before I started up this blog, I had one before but I never quite knew what to do with it. I wanted a fresh start. I accidentally logged into that account today as I forgot the password to this blog. Perhaps it wasn’t a mistake that I logged into the wrong account. It was also quite interesting to find out that the last post I wrote on that blog was dated back to 2015. Browsing through my posts, one in particular stood out to me and could not be more relevant in my life and I’m sure many of yours. So I thought I’d just share that post with you. Now 22 and no longer 20, it is a message entitled Enjoying Your Season and I think it’s something that a lot of people should keep in the back of their minds when going through difficulties.

***

I’ve entitled this ‘enjoying your season’ because the older I’ve gotten, the more I’ve realised that life is nowhere near perfect and that it certainly doesn’t follow the scripts panned out in all the well-known movies. (*cough* Love & Basketball and The Notebook *cough* – *sigh* one can dream…) Now I’m only 20. So I’m still young and haven’t cracked the code to unlocking how to enjoy life to the fullest, but through certain experiences, I’m on a journey finding out how to.

Isn’t it strange how life can treat you so well? Everything could be going well for you. Perhaps you’ve got a job. One that isn’t necessarily your dream job, but it pays the bills and gets you by. Perhaps you’re studying a course that inspires you. You’ve managed to obtain a good set of friends – ones who have stuck by you through everything. But before you know it, life has left you feeling like you’re in a maze and there’s no way out. The roller coaster of life has you on the edge of the seat awaiting that swift 90 degree drop. After countless interviews trying to get your dream job, you still find your situation to be stagnant. No progress. Sweet relationships that you dearly hung onto begin to turn sour and at the end of it all, you can’t quite work out what, why and how things went wrong.

One thing I’ve learnt over the last few months is to embrace and enjoy your season whether it’s a happy one or a confusing one. Sometimes you have to go through periods where all is not shooting stars and fireworks (can’t remember the phrase I was looking for here but I think this will do lol) to get to a better place. Enjoy every moment of it because once you’re out of it, you’ll appreciate the hard work, pain and headaches you had to go through to get to where you are.

Never settle for less and don’t compromise your standards because you feel like it’ll get you to where you want to be quicker.

The roller coaster of life may have you waiting on a 90 degree drop but once you have descended, that coaster will begin to ascend taking you through twists and turns before making its way back to the start of the station. You will get back to a point where you’ve experienced all the highs and lows and will have a refreshed mind ready to take on any challenge.

Each season you go through in life prepares you for your purpose. So whether it’s a season of unemployment, a season of loneliness, a season of no direction, a season of bitterness or even a season of not knowing what you want to do in life, enjoy it, because there’s always a light at the end of the tunnel and the experience with a bit of faith should bring you into a season of joy, happiness and peace of mind.

 

 

 

Until next time…

x

One thought on “A Message From Myself Two Years Ago… | Enjoying Your Season

Leave a Reply

